Golden Mouthed Prayers of Supplication

Saint John Chrysostom (ca. 347 – 407), Archbishop of Constantinople, is celebrated by feasting in the Orthodox tradition on many days, including the 13th of November. He was such a treasure to the church. He was an amazing preacher and upon his death was given the surname chrysostomos, meaning “golden mouth.” The following prayer was written by him and it is one of my favorites:

Lord, exclude me not from Thy heavenly blessings.

Lord, deliver me from eternal torments.

Lord, whether I have sinned in mind or though, word or deed, forgive me.

Lord, deliver me from all ignorance, forgetfulness, cowardice, and stone-like insensitivity.

Lord, deliver me from every temptation.

Lord, enlighten my heart, which evil desires have darkened.

Lord, as a man I have sinned: as a gracious God, have mercy on me, seeing the weakness of my soul.

Lord, send Thy Grace to my aid, that I may glorify Thy holy name.

Lord Jesus Christ, inscribe me, Thy servant, in the book of life, and grant me a good end.

Lord, my God, even though I have done nothing good before Thee, grant by Thy Grace that I may make a good beginning.

Lord, sprinkle the dew of Thy Grace into my heart.

Lord of Heaven and earth, remember me, Thy sinful, shameful, and impure servant in Thy Kingdom. Amen.

Lord, accept me in repentance.

Lord, abandon me not.

Lord, lead me not into temptation.

Lord, grant me good thoughts.

Lord, grant me tears, the remembrance of death and compunction.

Lord, grant me the thought of confessing my sins.

Lord, grant me humility, chastity, and obedience.

Lord, grant me patience, courage, and meekness.

Lord, cause the root of good to dwell in me – Thy fear in my heart.

Lord, grant that I may love Thee with all my soul and mind and to do Thy will in all things.

Lord, protect me from certain people, demons, and passions, and from any other unseemly thing.

Lord, I know that Thou doest as Thou wilt: may Thy will be in me, a sinner, for blessed art Thou forever. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Golden Mouthed Prayers of Supplication

  1. An awesome prayer written by an amazing church father. Didn’t he minister to the persecuted church and then get banished from the country?

    • I do believe that Chrysostom was exiled twice, but it was nothing too major. The major Christian persecutions happened before his time. He gained a lot of popularity because he was such an eloquent speaker. And he used strait forward expository preaching rather than an allegorical approach to scripture, this made his preaching more practical than many of his contemporaries.

Leave a Reply

